

Federal Chancellors since 1949



Konrad Adenauer (CDU)

September, 15th 1949 – October, 16th 1963 Cabinet I – 1949 to 1953 Cabinet II – 1953 to 1957 Cabinet III – 1957 to 1961 Cabinet IV – 1961 to 1962 Cabinet V – 1962 to 1963



Ludwig Erhard (CDU)

October, 16th 1963 – December, 1st 1966 Cabinet I – 1963 to 1965 Cabinet II – 1965 to 1966



Kurt Georg Kiesinger (CDU)

December, 1st 1966 -October, 21st 1969 Cabinet – 1966 to 1969



Willy Brandt (SPD)

October, 21st 1969 – May, 7th 1974 Cabinet I – 1969 to 1972 Cabinet II – 1972 to 1974



Helmut Schmidt (SPD)

May, 16th 1974 – October, 1st 1982 Cabinet I – 1974 to 1976 Cabinet II – 1976 to 1980 Cabinet III –1 980 to 1982



Federal Chancellors since 1949



Helmut Kohl (CDU)

October, 1st 1982 – October, 27th 1998 Cabinet I – 1982 to 1983 Cabinet II – 1983 to 1987 Cabinet III – 1987 to 1991 Cabinet IV – 1991 to 1994 Cabinet V – 1994 to 1998



Gerhard Schröder (SPD)

October, 27th 1998 – November, 22nd 2005 Cabinet I – 1998 to 2002 Cabinet II – 2002 to 2005



Angela Merkel (CDU)

November, 22nd 2005 – December, 8th 2021 Cabinet I – 2005 to 2009 Cabinet II – 2009 to 2013 Cabinet III – 2013 to 2018 Cabinet IV – 2018 to 2021



Olaf Scholz (SPD)

since December, 8th 2021

Cabinet I – since 2021